Try something different

For very many of us, we became born-again because we heard two things:

1. Jesus loves us.
2. He would not think twice about tossing us in hell fire if we did not hand over our lives to Him.

Yes, we heard it in different languages, pitches and frequency, but the message was the same- it was one of condemnation. Saying it plainly, we were threatened.

Along the way for many of us, we have realized the truth- that God is Love, that He would not create us to destroy us, that He is everything He says He is.

So here’s the challenge: when next you talk to somebody about Christ, try and preach love. They’ll hear of hell soon enough.

Love is a strong enough message to win a soul.

UPDATE: A friend and I just had a long discuss over this, shortly after I put it up.

He asked: why would I want to sugar-coat scriptures?
Isn’t ‘hell’ part of the message?
If God put it in the scriptures, why don’t I want to preach it?
He went ahead to send me a well-written note that drove home his point. The note was titled ‘grace-preachers’.

It made me ask myself:
Would I have given my life to Christ if I didn’t hear the hell-message?
But then, I also wondered: many people have heard the hell-message, and have still not given their lives to Christ.

I leave you finally with these:
There is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in love (1 John 4: 18)

If you can, grab Wayne Jacobsen’s book- He Loves Me

Leave a Reply

