Metamorphosis

The very first thing in life I wanted to become was a nurse…

… then a pastor. I recollect my primary 3 teacher wasn’t impressed by that as she had hurriedly moved on to the other enthusiastic pupils who wanted to be engineers, doctors and bankers. Then and there, I concluded I was certainly not going to be a pastor. SO WHAT WAS I GOING TO BE?

An accountant! Yippie!!! That way, I would graduate as a beautiful 19-year old, the youngest age possible for me.

But then, I realized how I was definitely not going to be in any class other than Science. Fortunately, that coincided with me receiving ‘the call’ to be a doctor. I’m not the only one who had that passion to care for the sick, am I? But I didn’t like the fact that three-quarter of us in class wanted to study medicine. I mean, why was everyone claiming they had received ‘the call’ too? Therein, began my deviation from medicine. Two of my friends wanted to study pharmacy, and I thought how exceedingly boring that was!

A few weeks to the time I was to fill my first JAMB form in SSS 3, I was afraid because everyone at home expected that I was going to put in for medicine, while I just discovered I really wanted to become an engineer. I, as an engineer or architect, appealed greatly to my soul, but architecture was completely out of it as I hadn’t for a day studied Technical Drawing in school.

During my WAEC exams, I came upon Ben carson’s book, GIFTED HANDS, and I was reassured beyond a reasonable doubt that filling in medicine for JAMB was not a mistake. I was not just going to be a doctor, but a neurosurgeon; not just a neurosurgeon, but the best neurosurgeon in the world in my time.

Oh yes! I wrote JAMB 😀

JAMB 😀

JAMB 😀

And voila! I’m a pharmacist.

Well, what can I say? I’m still metamorphosing.

5 thoughts on “Metamorphosis

  1. Very funny… Nice one..

  2. Adun says:

    Yh,calm down and love a pharmacist *wink* ,great one Naza,

  3. saga says:

    Lool…9ce one.may u’ll still end up in “neuropharmacy” or importing and exporting 😀

  4. hesthar says:

    I honestly like this

  5. hesthar says:

    I like this.

Leave a Reply

