2012!

My favourite phrase during the whole saga was “it is stalling progress.”

Desirous for a leap in my young life, I had drawn out a flexible schedule for the new year. The flexibility however did not allow for strikes of any form, so #OccupyNigeria was a new development.

It was quite interesting to note millions of Nigerians tag GEJ ‘clueless’, as a great percentage of them was just as clueless. Indeed, GEJ’s 2012 budget is heart-wrecking. It is simply inhumane! How on earth can a man summon courage of such magnitude to do that? How could he and his entire quartet even dare think fuel subsidy removal in the face of acquiring such looted possessions and wide-spread terrorism in the nation???

I strongly believe that big things start small, so you can imagine my gross annoyance when Gbadebo Onasanya repeatedly sent #OccupyNigeria broadcasts to me. He was a one-time assistant social secretary of PANS (Pharmaceutical Association of Nigerian Students, UNILAG chapter), and the only thing he is remembered for achieving is getting funds for jobs that were never executed. What was more intriguing was how he got off with hardly any questioning. Of course, he later boasted to his roommates on how smart a boy he was. Gbadebo occupied Nigeria very well. He and his cohorts who embezzled PANS funds!!! Nigeria is deep-sunk in corruption it’s almost normal.

As I observed the protests gain momentum by the day, why was I convinced Nigeria was not ready for it? I watched on with mild suspense. It astounded me to hear people say Nigerians now had one voice, and were putting aside religious and ethnic differences. As for the pictures littering the internet of ‘christians’ ‘protecting’ muslims, I found both lame and pathetic, because after the elimination of a common enemy, would they not again turn against themselves?

Everyone knows Nigeria’s problem. But the solution??? Are we sure we are ready for the solution? It’s beyond protesting under the hot sun.

I was shocked international news bodies were buying into our ‘fight for freedom’ as they nicknamed it. I got reminded that no one can tell your story better than you. Where and when on earth did a nation-wide protest solve corruption when the placard-carrying individuals were themselves corrupt? We simply made international headlines. Fullstop.

Also of interest to me was that some of my friends said they are not of this world and do not function in this realm. Hmn! Word! However, they would live by the laws enforced by the people of this world.

No! I have no words for labour (nlC, tuC, etC.). Labour ko, labour ni. Hungry people.

While I admire those who risked their lives (at one point or the other in life, you should be able to believe in something enough to fight and lay down your life for it), it appears to me that those who died during the fuel subsidy episode (may their souls rest in peace), died in vain.

What do you think?

N.B: ‘Gbadebo Onasanya’ is NOT the real name of the PANS official.

P.S: Happy new year to you all. Our latter shall be greater than the former. AMEN.

Chinazar Okoro©2012

11 thoughts on “2012!

  1. Oluwatitomi says:

    You have so eloquently expressed my fears from the start of the whole thing. In as much as your writeup may sound pessimistic the truth must needs be said.
    One benefit I have accured from all these is a stronger resolve to never allow either economic or political factors be the determinant of my success in life. So help us God. Amen

  2. I love reading your right ups. The ‘Christians protecting Muslims’ part reminded me of One of Bishop T.D. Jakes messages on types of friendship. He talked about Confidants, Comrades and Constituents. The Comrade part I think are people that become your friend because you guys are fighting a common enemy. For your friend Gbadebo, pls advice him to change lest this wind of change consume him also. Am expecting more from you my dear friend Chinazar Okoro.

  3. saga says:

    Wow…on point!!!totally agree…@ least dis one wasn’t C&P…lol

  4. Sadiq says:

    Nice writeup, read one or two other posts and they kinda remind me of Emeka’s short literary stories back in sec. school (I haven’t read anything from him in quite a while). On 2012! I must say I feel its heavily subjective (as are my comments and I guess just about everyone’s view on the whole matter) and I do feela little faith definitely isn’t out of order. While theone voice thing” is a little far fetched, the fact is the mass protests around the country shows we are one step farther away from being just typical Nigerians.

    On a different note….I like Chimamanda Adichie’s writing but I don”t particularly dig her ideals….so, I’ve got my crosshair set on you!

  5. She goes politic… I feel like a bad influence… Otherwise, nice write-up… PANS dude might be suing though…

  6. itunu says:

    ummmh…krazan inc…thats so true..spot on babe,…i laughed at the..”well..some of my frnds said they were nt of this world..’prapharased!!!…loooooooooooooooooooooooooooool…omg…well sha..only God will help us…as for the society carrying placards..yup!>..try eliminating the corruption between urselves first, then u can lash whoever dares corrupt our country nigeria!…JEsus was never wrong beloved..and ppl that died just died in vain…the soldiers that re meant fr the terrorists are targetted against armless protestants…God above sees everything..Good job krazan!

  7. pinkheights says:

    ummmh…krazan inc…thats so true..spot on babe,…i laughed at the..”well..some of my frnds said they were nt of this world..’prapharased!!!…loooooooooooooooooooooooooooool…omg…well sha..only God will help us…as for the society carrying placards..yup!>..try eliminating the corruption between urselves first, then u can lash whoever dares corrupt our country nigeria!…JEsus was never wrong beloved..and ppl that died just died in vain…the soldiers that re meant fr the terrorists are targetted against armless protestants…God above sees everything..Good job krazan!

  8. Chijioke Agbo says:

    Hi Nasa, your speech is sensational and I congratulate you for your indept display of splendid creative artistry and your boldness to speak the truth, in spite of the risks involved. Well, I will like to discuss with you. Please contact me on 08064066835

Leave a Reply

